RSS Feed

Kensington at Night

Hey guys,

I just finished my work for the night so I’m rewarding myself with a brew. This is the first time I’ve had this one, and I’m hella excited.

Tonight I’m drinking Augusta Ale from the Kensington Brewing Company. These guys brew straight out of Kensington Market – hipster central in Toronto.

For those who have never been to Kensington – GO. I remember my first time visiting this historic and whacky neighbourhood one day after high school. Being from Etobicoke, my buddies and I were blown away by the culture we found that afternoon. At first we laughed at how eccentric everything seemed, but I quickly realized that this type of place is rare and began to really take it all in. If you leave Kensington Market without finding at least 5 things/people which interest you or make you laugh, you suck as an individual.

Anyways, on to the beer:

Pours a clear golden colour with a frothy white head. Aroma is sweet-sweet caramel malt and citrus. I don’t really taste the citrus, but I get the sweet caramel and some hoppy bitterness, with a bit of a grassy finish

.Image

If I had to describe this beer in 3 words they would be: God damned sessionabe – Side note, Microsoft word says sessionable is TWO words. HA, idiots…

I will most definitely be using this beer to try to convert my hopeless Canadian-drinking friends. Kind of how marijuana is a gateway drug, this can be used as a gateway craft ale. Very approachable and enjoyable for all. Next time I’m home in T-dot for a visit this will definitely be a place I stop by in person.

As always I would love to hear your thoughts on this beer or my blog.

Contact info:

Email:  ottbeerguy@gmail.com

Twitter: @ottbeerguy

Untapped: Swainer

In my fridge right now is a bottle of Cameron’s RPA which I somehow have never tried, and a can of Nickelbrook Headstock IPA which I have had on numerous occasions. Look for reviews on these beers and/or others in the next few days. Until then, cheers!

-Matt

About OttBeerGuy

Craft beer fan in Ottawa/Toronto. Twitter: @ottbeerguy

Leave a Reply

