RSS Feed

Muskoka on the weekend

If your childhood was anything like mine, you’ve spent a few weekends at a cottage in your lifetime. Now my parents didn’t exactly have the funds to buy one, but one week every summer you could guarantee that we would be at a rental cottage on a lake in one of Muskoka’s many beautiful townships. Gravenhurst, Bala, Bracebridge, and Port Carling are home to some of my favourite memories with my family as I was growing up. These days I’m not always able to make if to the cottage for that week with the family. Growing up brings responsibilities; school, work, extra-curriculars, etc… But truly, the Muskoka region is somewhere I’ll always want to be.

…..Gentle segway into beer…..

The first craft beer I ever tasted was a Muskoka Brewery Mad Tom IPA. The quality difference from the stuff I was used to drinking (Carling, Molson, Labatt 50) was outstanding. I used to think beer was just something that wasn’t supposed to taste good, or something that everyone just pretended to like. But The Muskoka Brewery showed me it didn’t have to be that way. Beer could truly be enjoyable and delicious without all the television commercials about being Rocky Mountain Certified Cold… seriously, what the fuck.

Hey, speaking of Muskoka!

I recently grabbed a 750ml bottle of Muskoka Harvest Ale from my local LCBO. I can’t honestly say I’m a fan of all their products, but I know they do make quality beer and I had heard good things about this year’s Harvest.

So, bottoms up.

Image

Pours dark amber, almost to the point of being red. It has a fairly thick white head that slowly dissipates into outer lacing.

Aroma is citrus hops, with a bit of earthiness and a hint of caramel. Taste is citrusy bitterness with an earthy/grassy malt back bone. Finishes with a tangy bitterness that left me wishing this bottle was about 3 times its actual size.

I really liked this one, and found the 7.0% ABV was hidden nicely under a pile of hops and grass.

I’ll be buying this one again, and if you like seasonal pale ales, this is a must. As with most Muskoka brews, the quality is top notch and the flavor is bold.

If you’ve given this one a shot already, let me know how you found it. I’m all ears.

Cheers for now,

-Matt

About OttBeerGuy

Craft beer fan in Ottawa/Toronto. Twitter: @ottbeerguy

Leave a Reply

