RSS Feed

The pursuit of Pumpkin continued

Pumpkin beers have really caught my attention recently. They’re a very interesting seasonal brew, and as I have learned upon trying to introduce the style to friends, they’re also an acquired taste. Either that or I just have a plethora of closed minded friends…

This week I picked up Mill Street’s Autumn Harvest mix pack from the LCBO’s Glebe location, which includes 3 of their Oktoberfest beers, and 3 bottles of Nightmare on Mill Street Pumpkin Ale. The 6-pack was $13.45; pretty standard for a craft beer sixer.

Now if you haven’t figured it out, I’m currently interested in pumpkin seasonals, therefore today I will be sampling the Nightmare on Mill Street Pumpkin Ale.

Image

Bottoms up.

Pours dark amber with a pretty thin white head which dissipates quickly. Initial aroma of pumpkin, nutmeg, and cinnamon. There’s a bit of sweetness on the nose as well. More pumpkin sweetness throughout the taste, with a purely spice finish which includes cinnamon, clove, nutmeg, caramel, and maybe some ginger root. I found cinnamon and clove to be the dominant flavours, which compliment the subtle pumpkin taste nicely. Comparing this to the last pumpkin ale I tried from Great Lakes brewery, this was a much sweeter option which reminded me more of pumpkin pie and autumn.

Nightmare on Mill St. was very well balanced between sweetness and spice. This is a quality seasonal that I hope keeps coming back. I would have to rate this above Great Lakes Pumpkin Ale, and I vow to continue my quest to try as many pumpkin flavoured beers and I can find time for. On deck will be the Clocktower Brewery’s (well known Ottawa brewpub) pumpkin seasonal. I’ll be pre-ordering a growler this week, but if you beat me too it I’d love to hear what you think.

Take ‘er easy until next time, you beautiful bastard.

-Matt

@Ottbeerguy

About OttBeerGuy

Craft beer fan in Ottawa/Toronto. Twitter: @ottbeerguy

One response »

  1. Pingback: Grand River Brewing – Highballer Pumpkin Ale | sounds like beer

Leave a Reply

