RSS Feed

Coffee compilation

Let’s be honest people, the reason we love one-off brews is because they make us feel special. We’re one of a small number of people on this earth who will have the privilege of drinking that beer.

Today I’m reviewing another beauty from Beyond the Pale Brewing Company in Ottawa. I picked up a small (32 oz.) growler of their collaboration brew entitled “Brewmance Begins”. This beer is made in collaboration with Bridgehead Coffee, and it’s really something special. It’s a coffee IPA that comes in at 6.6% ABV and 72 IBU’s. Without any further adieu, here’s what I thought of this one.

 Image

Pours a cloudy amber/brown, with very little head to speak of. On the nose is citrus, light coffee notes, and a distinct malt base. I found the hops really came alive on the palate, which started fruity and slightly bitter and then transitioned to coffee and a bit of sweetness from the malt. Finish was slightly bitter but pretty smooth and left a really nice “desert coffee” flavour on my tongue.

Again, I loved the uniqueness of this beer, and I feel as though it will be a long time before I get to try another coffee IPA. The fact that 2 independent Ottawa area companies could combine their product to make something of such high quality makes me happy.

Part of me hopes BTP does another batch of this at a later date, but another part of me likes how exclusive it was and would be totally fine if they didn’t make more because I was lucky enough to try it.

Either way, keep it up Beyond the Pale.

About OttBeerGuy

Craft beer fan in Ottawa/Toronto. Twitter: @ottbeerguy

Leave a Reply

