RSS Feed

Wheeling Catherine

Posted on

I’ve come to realize Belgian IPA’s just may be my ideal beer style for summer. The Belgian yeast makes them incredibly refreshing on the palate and the hop content varies enough from brew to brew to keep things interesting.

Last night I enjoyed some delicious (and very well priced) pints at the Bellwood’s Brewery on Ossington. The atmosphere was great even though we weren’t on the beautiful patio, and the beers were fairly tasty. My buddy Steve even decided to order the Duck Heart’s (four hearts for $4). They were very tender and covered in a jalapeno sauce that provided a nice kick in the crotch, and a thirst for beer. Well done folks.

I’ve had a bottle of Catherine Wheel Belgian IPA from Bellwoods in my fridge since the last time I visited the retail shop and I decided today was a great day to drink it.

Beautiful evening in Etobicoke North

Beautiful evening in Etobicoke North

Pours a cloudy light amber with a thin white head that dissipates quickly. Aromas of light citrus, flowers, grassy hops, and yeast. Light mouth-feel with more citrus, yeast, and grass. Its got a nice sweetness to it, but not diabetes-inducing by any means. Finish is dry, with grass and yeast. A little bit of lemon bitterness is evident, with some sweet malt undertones coming through. You wouldn’t guess it has an ABV of 7.2%

I’d recommend Catherine Wheel for a hot day on a patio. It’s not the best Belgian IPA I’ve ever had, but if it popped up on my Tinder page Catherine Wheel would be a firm right-swipe.

About OttBeerGuy

Craft beer fan in Ottawa/Toronto. Twitter: @ottbeerguy

Leave a Reply

